Druid Society

The senior class honor society was founded in 1903. The Druid Society works to further the ideals of the College by promoting the values of character, loyalty and leadership. While "druid" refers to a legendary ancient Celtic priesthood in Irish and Welsh sagas, the Druids at Hobart College today are the guardians of Hobart tradition and advise the Dean of the College on matters relating to the Hobart Heritage.

2013-14 Members

Andrew S. Baird
Richard Y. Bonney
Michael D. Green
Guanqun Li
Cameron J. Stone
Weston L. Traub
Jacob A. Powell


The junior class honor society is represented by a figure from Greek mythology featuring a lion's head, a goat's body, and a serpent's tail.

2013-14 Members

Daniel F. Budmen
Luke C. DeLuccia
Michael R. Fields
Andrew R. Hoy
Michael J. Lucas
Sharafudin Mirzayee
Subin Nepal
Jericsson Pichardo
Jacob D. Price
Troy J. Robinson
Henry P. Smith
Ryan M. Sollenne
Nicolas T. Stewart
Christopher M. Troy
Kyle C. Zaverton

Orange Key

The sophomore class honor society draws its name from one of the Hobart College colors (orange and purple) and one of the symbols on the Hobart College seal (the key symbolizes knowledge). The Orange Key society recognizes promising rising sophomores who have been campus leaders in their very first year at the College.

2013-14 Members:

Peter B. Betrus
Charles S. DeBenedetto
Dominic N. Facciponte
Maxwell J. Gorton
Daniel W. Hastings
Graham T. Hughes
James R. Hull
Joshua L. Kreeger-Smith
John F. Kuebler
Michael J. Kwilos
Samuel W. Menchel
Domenic J. Merolla
Ryan T. Mullaney
Christopher G. Poggi
Jeffrey M. Rizza
Shaakir J. Samuel
Ryan J. Saunders
Patrick R. Ware
Kyle R. Wiatrowski
Richard L. Yackel


Each year, current members of each honor society invite new members to join. Typically, those students selected are highly visible within the community as student leaders.

For more information about joining the societies, contact the Hobart Dean’s Office at (315) 781-3300.